Resolution 2099 “The need to eradicate statelessness of children” (excerpts), 2016


9. Azerbaijan, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”, Poland and Slovenia have conditional safeguards which do not provide full protection against the statelessness of children, as they only function if a child’s parents are stateless or of unknown citizenship and do not function in circumstances in which parents who have a nationality cannot pass on their nationality to their children.


12. To this end, the Assembly asks member States to take the following steps to eradicate childhood statelessness:
12.1. with respect to the implementation of international conventions on statelessness, the Assembly:
12.1.1. calls on Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Georgia, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom to sign and ratify the Council of Europe Convention on Nationality, and calls on Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland and the Russian Federation to ratify it;

Document data: adopted 04.03.2016 Link: (also available in Russian at )

Tagged: Tags